Also see Resources for Auto Body/Collision Repair web page
Registration is Mandatory
Any auto body shop, collision repair shop or mobile refinisher that is located in Northern Virginia (see locality listing below) should be registered with the Air Division of the DEQ Northern Regional Office unless no painting of vehicles or parts occur at the shop.
Northern Virginia Auto Body/Collision Repair Registration Form (Word or PDF) is available online.
If your business has not registered, you may be in violation of Virginia Regulations for the Control and Abatement of Air Pollution, specifically 9 VAC 5 Chapter 40, Article 48 “Emission Standards for Mobile Equipment Repair and Refinishing Operations in the Northern Virginia Volatile Organic Compound Emission Control Area.” Note you may be subject to enforcement action.
If your business is new or has not previously registered, or has changed addresses or ownership, you need to notifiy the DEQ within 30 days of beginning operations, or from the date of any change. If more than 30 days have passed and you have not registered your shop, or notified DEQ of any changes, you must do so at once. If you need help, please call John McKie of the Northern Regional Office at (703) 583-3831.
The regulation referenced above applies to businesses engaged in refinishing of cars, trucks, buses, campers, mobile construction and farm equipment, golf carts, and other "mobile equipment" that are located in the following localities:
- Arlington, Fairfax, Loudoun, Prince William, and Stafford counties, and
- Alexandria, Fairfax, Falls Church, Manassas, and Manassas Park cities.
Auto body/collision repair facilities must use HVLP spray guns or other coating application methods that achieve equivalent reductions in emissions, use paints and coatings that comply with VOC (Volatile Organic Compound) limits, and meet other requirements. There are also waste and water regulations that may apply to your business.
Northern Virginia Auto Body Shop Self-Certification Program
DEQ developed the Northern Virginia Voluntary Auto Body Shop Self-Certification Program to help facilities identify and understand the environmental regulations that impact their operations. The Self-Certification Program is voluntary. DEQ encouarges shops to participate, but does not require them to do so.
The Program helps shops to examine their operations to determine if they are in compliance with environmental requirements and, if not, how to correct any deficiency so as to be in compliance. Again, participation is voluntary. There is no penalty for not participating. Participation must be voluntary because we are asking you to go beyond the requirements of the Air Regulation and we are asking you to self-certify or tell us if you are in compliance with all aspects of the environmental regulations which apply to your business.
DEQ recognizes successful Program participants by provided them with a program decal and plaque. Participation may result in reduced inspection frequency. DEQ is examining options to facilitate training opportunities on improved technologies and techniques for auto body/collision repair. We recognize that the extra time and effort shops spend deserve recognition.
Please remember that Self-Certification is voluntary but registration is mandatory. Failure to register is a violation of the law and subject to penalty.
In October and November 2007, DEQ held a series of workshops across Northern Virginia to describe environmental requirements, best practices, and the Self-Certification Program. You can view the presentation given by DEQ on the Self-Certification Program and Environmental Requirements.
Visit the Resources for Auto Body/Collision Repair web page for future workshops and training opportunities.